Dirt Cups | Dirt and worms

Dirt Cups, oh so fun for the kiddos!

 My good Mommy friend and I decided to go on a dinner picnic at a local park, we were brainstorming ideas for dessert and she said what about dirt cups? Yes this is so perfect for our picnic dessert… Mud, dirt, grass (yes I said grass, my tutorial has this extra ingredient of ‘grass’)  worms – What could be better?!
Dirt and worms cups have been around since I was little! I remember my first one I thought it was the best thing ever;) I wanted to add another ‘real’ element to this traditional dessert to try and gross the kids out even more. But what could make these even more realistic… I decided to make ‘grass’ to add to the traditional dirt cups of mud, dirt, and worms.Oh man did the kids think this was real, haha one said “I don’t want to eat grass!”  So here’s how I made this ‘grass’. 1 cup organic oats, add 1/4 cup corn syrup (honey  or agave nectar would have worked just as well), add green food coloring, mix until it’s completely coated and green. Bake on 350º for 15 min. and voila green grass.
*Healthy twist on dirt and worms dessert* My mommy friend suggested we could have done oats in place of oreos, such a great idea! To make this substitute use 1 cup organic oatmeal, add 2 tbs. of cocoa, 1/4 cup of corn syrup, honey, or agave nectar. Mix well. Bake 350º for 15 mins. Throw the granola, once baked, in the food processor to get the tiny granules to make it look like dirt. Then there you have it a healthier version of this classic kids dessert.

Dirt cups Tutorial:

  • chocolate pudding cups ‘mud’
  • pureed oreos ‘dirt’
  • green granola (see how to above or in pics) ‘grass’
  • gummy worms ‘worms’
wp-1469074808033.jpg

Dirt cups tutorial dirt and worms

 

4 thoughts on “Dirt Cups | Dirt and worms

Leave a Reply

